Getting Started

Building Blocks

Subscription Features

Localization

Invoices

Credits

Billing Features

Taxes

Payment Methods

Direct Debit Payments

Configuring Gateways

Fraud Management

Hosted Pages

Attach Additional Data

Migration

Open Source Resources

Other Features

API Integration

Third Party Integrations

Reporting 

Chargebee has a built in reporting system in the web interface to provide you with an insight on how your business is performing. Using our reports section, you can easily view and analyze the statistics of your account and it gives you comprehensive details about your collections, billing, and transactions.

The overall appearance of reports is quite colorful and easy on the eye. With markers that have tool tips when you hover over them and when you move your mouse over the graph, as well as a set of named ranges and advanced filters to quickly help you find what you're looking for.

Dashboard 

Chargebee's dashboard provides a summary of metrics to measure health of your business.

Vanity Metrics Bar

The bar on top displays:

Net Revenue - This is the total value of Invoices, excluding taxes and the total value of Credit Notes.

Net Payments Received - Total payments received, minus the total refunds made.

MRR - The Monthly Recurring Revenue as on date.

Active Subscriptions - The total of Active and Non Renewing subscriptions.

Unpaid Invoices Amount - Total amount of all the invoices that are in Payment Due and Not Paid states.

All the reports include aggregate data of previous and current months (till date) and the charts are plotted using daily aggregate of individual data points.

Sales - Total value of invoices generated during the selected period.

New Sales - Total value of new invoices generated.

Payments - Total payments received. Refunds, if any, are NOT factored-in for this calculation. Refunds are provided separately.

Refunds - Total amount refunded.


MRR - Monthly Recurring Revenue is normalised monthly revenue, based on all recurring items of a subscription. As the name indicates, MRR is calculated for a monthly "duration". The MRR amount shown on the dashboard is a total of all your subscriptions' MRR.

For example, a $1,200 paid annually should be normalized as $100 per month in MRR.

It is fairly straight forward when all the charges are simple recurring charges. But as a subscription business you tend to have a mix of one-time & recurring charges for a customer and it helps to understand what should be considered as part of MRR calculation and what should be excluded.

What is included in the MRR calculation?

All recurring plans & add-ons
Coupon discounts

MRR takes into account all the ACTIVE and Non-Renewing Subscriptions. Subscriptions in "Future" and "In Trial" state are not included in the calculation.

What is excluded in the MRR calculation?

Setup fee
Non-recurring add-ons
Credit adjustments
Any non-recurring adhoc charges
Amount charged towards tax

Note

Since the MRR reflects immediate changes made to your subscriptions, it can sometimes fluctuate by accounting for activations, upgrades, cancellations, downgrades, and any other changes made your active subscriptions (like charges for add-ons and coupons) over the course of the current month.

Let us take the following example explain how MRR is calculated:

Example

Subscription details

Plan: $100/month

Recurring add-on: $100/month

Non-recurring add-on: $100

Discount Coupon: $50/month.

The total invoice amount for the subscription is: $250, but the MRR for this subscription is: $150.

Here is how it is calculated: (Plan price of $100) + (recurring add-on of $100) – (Discount of $50) = $150 in MRR.

The non-recurring add-on is excluded in this case, as it is NOT part of the recurring revenue.

For additional reading, check our blog  to learn more about MRR.


CMRR - Committed Monthly Recurring Revenue is similar to MRR except that it takes into account all the future pending changes for the month in consideration. The pending changes could include upgrades, downgrades, cancellations and activations. For example, if there are lots of pending cancellations, MRR will not reflect this till the cancellations happen but CMRR number will reflect these in advance. You can take corrective action more accurately using CMRR in these scenarios.

What is included in the CMRR calculation?

In addition to MRR, CMRR will include pending changes such as:
Upgrades
Downgrades
Cancellations
Activations

CMRR takes into account all the subscriptions in "Future" and "In Trial" state.

What is excluded in the CMRR calculation?

Setup fee
Non-Recurring add-ons
Credit Adjustments
Any Non-Recurring Adhoc changes
Amount charged towards tax

These examples will help you understand how CMRR is calculated:

Example

Change Subscription on Next Renewal

Subscription Details:

Plan: $10/month
Recurring add-on: $5/month
Current Billing Period: 10th June to 10th July
Current CMRR: $15/month

If you schedule an upgrade/downgrade (Change Subscription on next renewal) on 20th June for the subscription then the new plan would look like this:

New Plan: $20/month
Recurring add-on: $10/month
Current Billing Period: 10th June to 10th July
Current CMRR: $15/month

In this example, the CMRR from 20th June to the end of the month will remain the same as the next renewal date falls on 10th July which is not considered for the current period of calculation.

On 1st July CMRR will be changed to $30 as the changes are applied to the subscription from this month.

This calculation does not apply to upgrades/downgrades for ‘Change Subscription Immediately' as the CMRR will reflect the changes immediately.

Example

Cancel Subscription on Next Renewal

Subscription Details:
Plan: $10/month
Recurring add-on: $5/month
Current Billing Period: 10th June to 10th July
Current CMRR: $15/month

Scheduled Cancellation: Next Renewal Date-10th July

In this example, CMRR will be changed to $0 on the 1st of July as the subscription is scheduled to cancel in that month.

Example

Trial and Future Subscription with card or Customer Auto Collection set to false

Subscription Details:
Plan: $15/month
Trial Period: 1 Month
Activation Date: 10th July

If a customer has subscribed to a plan on 10th June and has added their card details, then the CMRR value will be $0. From 10th June to the end of the month the CMRR will remain $0 as the activation date does not fall under the current period of calculation.

On 1st July, CMRR will be changed to $15 as the activation date is falls under the current period of calculation.

Signups - Count of total number of signups.

Activations - Count of number of subscriptions that are "Active". Any subscriptions that are reactivated are also included.

Churn Rate - This is the percentage of subscriptions that are canceled in the reporting period.

This report shows day-wise canceled subscription count and churn rate of the previous and current month.

To calculate the churn rate, we consider:

A - Number of active subscriptions at the beginning of the month.

B - Number of subscriptions that were active at the beginning of the month but canceled for the reporting period.

Note

Subscriptions activated and canceled in the same month will not be included when calculating churn rate for that month.

Formula:

Churn rate = (B/A) x 100

For example, if there are 100 active subscriptions on 1st of June, and 10 of them were canceled during the month, the churn rate is calculated as follows:

(10/100) x 100 = 10%

Sales Reversals - Total value of Credit Notes generated. This includes refunds made and credits provided.

Report Views 

At a Glance - Dashboard view of your business. Displays information about your current sales performance. This view provides you with a snapshot on revenue, signups, cancelation and failed transactions for the most recent period.

Subscription Count - A count of the total number of subscriptions on each plan.

Monthly Plan Revenue - Total monthly sales revenue generated by each plan for the current and previous month.

Monthly Addon Revenue - Total monthly sales revenue generated by each addon for the current and previous month.

ARPU - Average Revenue per User per month.

Renewal Summary - Shows the total renewal count and revenue amount for a specified time period.

Transaction Summary - A summarized report of all the transaction types. Read More.

Transaction Trend - Shows the average number of transactions that has occurred in a day, day of week and hour.

Lost Opportunities - Opportunities that have been lost or missed. These are all the customers who tried to sign up with you but were not able to. Read More.

Refund Summary - A summary of all the refunds made along with the refund type (full or partial).

Export Data - This is used for exporting invoices, transactions, subscriptions and product configurations into a CSV file.

Exported List - This contains a list of all the exports that have been initiated within the last 14 days.

Filtering Reports 

We provide extensive filtering capabilities within reports that lets you specify criteria to drill down and view your data.

Named Range Values 

Here's a list of all the named ranges included in the report along with the date range used.

What time zone are my reports in? 

Currently, all the reports are in the GMT time zone. We are working on getting reports that would display data based on your local time zone.

How is ARPU calculated? 

ARPU is calculated and displayed for the period of a month. The average revenue is calculated by:

Total amount paid by the customer till the next renewal date.

Duration from the date of activation till next renewal date.

The period of activation till the next renewal date is considered because the customer pays the monthly or yearly fee in advance and we have received the payment.

This report only calculates the ARPU for customers who have at least made a single payment.

For Example:

Let's say you have 2 active customers.

Plan A: $10/Month

Plan B: $100/Year

Customer 1 is on Plan A

Signed up: Jan 15th 2013

Billing Cycle: 15th of every month

Customer 2 is on Plan B

Signed up: March 1st 2013

Next Billing: March 2014

If you're running the report on April 10th for signups in the last 30 days, then your ARPU is calculated as:

When running the report, canceled subscriptions are calculated by using the Canceled Date instead of the Next Renewal Date for the subscription period. For a canceled subscription, the total invoice amount that has been paid is considered.

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