Psst! Short on time? Talk to someone now and get your answers quicker!
In simple terms, Expansion MRR is the amount of additional revenue coming from the existing customers.
Expansion MRR is a very important metric that can better inform marketing efforts to maximize returns. There are multiple types of expansion MRR and it is vital to use all during evaluation and planning.
Additional revenue is generated by customers in subscription business when the following activities happen,
Upsells - moving from a free plan to a priced plan or moving from a lower-priced plan to a higher-priced plan.
Cross-sells - purchase of other additional non-core products offered by you.
Add-ons - purchasing of other recurring add-ons that are not part of the customer’s current subscription plan.
Reactivation - Reactivating a canceled subscription.
This additional revenue from existing customers indicates customer loyalty and satisfaction which is valuable in the long run as it expands the customer lifetime value (LTV). However, the primary benefit of expansion MRR is that the company need not incur extra cost to earn the additional revenue. Other important benefits include:
In other words, no Customer Acquisition Costs (CAC) are involved in generating expansion MRR. Christopher Janz, co-founder & managing partner of Point Nine Angel VC says that “Most of the best later-stage SaaS companies get a significant portion of their growth from existing customers.”
Expansion MRR is an important metric to gauge whether or not your existing customers are buying more or less of your product and offerings. In other words, its proof of customer loyalty. Calculating this on a monthly basis gives more insights into how you can improve your customer success strategy to meet customer expectations.
[(Expansion MRR at the end of the month – Expansion MRR at the beginning of the month) / Expansion MRR at the beginning of the month] x 100 = Expansion MMR percentage rate
For example, if the MRR expansion at the beginning of the month is $2000 and $3000 at the end of the month, the expansion MRR rate would be,
[(3000-2000) / 2000] * 100 = 50%
The expansion MRR percentage is 50%
An increase in this number indicates revenue growth from your existing customer base and is a great sign. But one should not solely rely on this metric to gauge customer satisfaction, because it could be misleading especially if you’re losing a lot of customers month on month. This metric should be used simply to get a better picture of current customer loyalty and retention which can inform future marketing and retention efforts.
For this reason, it is essential to keep an eye on your churn while looking at this metric.
Churn can mean two things, the number of customers you lose (customer churn) and the amount of revenue you lose (revenue churn). However, negative churn is good. Your company would have a negative churn rate when current customers stay subscribed and spend more money in the current month than they did in the previous month, which directly correlates with expansion MRR.
Monitoring Expansion MRR will help you understand customer satisfaction better. But how can it be used to expand your business?
Understanding your customer’s needs with regard to your product features is very powerful. Regular monitoring of your customer data and listening to your users can help you experiment with new features that could solve your customer problems. This will also help you with your upselling activities and keep downgrades from customers at bay. Upselling will also help increase negative churn.
Make upgrades attractive with the help of discounts and trial periods. However, before giving away a portion of your product for free, it is better to check with your finance leaders on the health of your cash flow statement.
Ensure that the upgrades are easy and obvious. An automated upgrade process can help give the customers a good experience.
Harness customer feedback. Be proactive in marketing your higher subscription models and add-on services by highlighting the customer pain points and problems you’d be solving.