A site in Chargebee can be visualized as a container that holds all the customer information, product catalog (plans, addons and coupons), subscriptions, reports and associated configurations. It's the heart of a Chargebee account and the way it is built and configured determines how your customers are billed, charged and communicated with. The kind of access privileges you have on a site depend on the kind of role you have as a site user. You can learn more about site user roles here. The top-left corner in Chargebee shows the site you are working in and allows you to switch to any other sites you may have access to.
Before a Chargebee site can start billing your customers, you need to configure it with the details of your products, services, customer management information etc. Chargebee gives you a test site where you can setup these and try them out before actually putting them out to your customers. The test site has sample data, a test payment gateway and test credit cards to work with. You can easily delete or repopulate all or chunks of the sample data. This site looks exactly like the live site that would eventually hold all the data and configurations used for your business.
We recommend that you use the test site first (it is free for as long as you need) to arrive at the final configuration that you would use for your business. Play around with it to understand how Chargebee works. Once you are familiar with how Chargebee works using the test site, you can activate the live site. You can save time reconfiguring the settings on the Live site by copying your configurations from test to live.
The live site owned by you is disabled when you sign up and can be enabled at any time by clicking on the "GO LIVE!" button on the top right.
Typically, you may be a user of a live site and not the owner, in which case, you just have to switch to it by clicking on your site name on the top-right and then clicking on All Sites. More details about site user roles are here.
The test site data can be completely or partially deleted. To do this navigate to Settings > Test site data > Delete/Repopulate test site data. Any changes made here are irreversible, so make them carefully.
Once you've created the product catalog (plans, addons and coupons) and made other configuration changes as necessary, you can copy these settings from the test site to the live site.
The following table shows what features can be copied and how. Any feature not mentioned here cannot be copied:
|Feature||Can be copied from Test to Live Site?||Can be copied from Live to Test Site?||How?||Comments/Next Steps|
|Plans, addons and coupons||Yes||Yes||* Go to the live or test site that you wish to transfer the settings to and go to:
* Settings > Get Started button under Copy Configurations From… Check the box under the feature name.
* Click on Copy.
|* Only plans, addons and coupons present in the site being copied-from and not present in the site being copied-to are transferred.
* Changes are not transferred for those items that exist on both test and live sites.
* The changes are copied as a draft.
|Brand settings||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||The changes are applied instantly.|
|Checkout and Self-Serve Portal||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||The changes are copied over as a draft.|
|Languages||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||Changes are applied instantly.|
|Currency settings||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||* Changes are applied instantly.
* Only those currencies whose exchange rates are determined automatically, are copied.
|Invoice and credit note customizations||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||* The changes are copied over as a draft.
* Payment instructions are not copied.
|Email Notifications version 1||Yes||Yes||Same as above.||The changes are applied instantly.|
|Email notification v2||Yes||No||On the test site, using the Push to Live feature under Settings > Email Notifications.||The changes are copied over as a draft.|